Mrs. Daugherty's Fifth-Grade Class Blog

Connect with each other

Blogging Challenge #6 November 7, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — mrsdaughertysclass @ 6:42 am

A day at school: This week for the blogging challenge we are going to write a post about a typical day at your school. You might be able to take photos about your subjects for that day you are describing.

  • What time does school begin?
  • How do you get to school?
  • How long is each subject?
  • What choices of subject do you have?
  • Are there after school activities?

I am looking forward to reading your posts.  If you want to add any other details please feel free to be creative about your day at school!  Remember to post on another students comment.  Also, I would like you to go to the CLASS LIST for the blogging challenge and post on another classes blog.  Find an interesting comment and post. Be sure to tell me in you comment which blog you posted to and why.

 

43 Responses to “Blogging Challenge #6”

  1. Grace Ann Says:

    At Kings Ridge Christian School school begins at 8:00. I go to school in my mom’s car. I ♥ when my mom drives me to school. I am never late when she drives me. Each subject is about an hour or so. We don’t have any choices of subjects. It is just what is on our 5th grade schedule. We have tons of after school clubs to choose from. You can do chorus, drum club, art club, writing club, k-kids, green team, newspaper, and maybe more!
    I commented on Roberto’s blog. I did it because it was under interesting posts and I wanted to read an interesting post. It also said Roberto the pigeon whisper and that caught my eye!
    ☮ out, Grace Ann Geer

    • Grace Ann Says:

      Here is the link to the Kings Ridge Christian School website.

      • Abby Says:

        good job grace ann! thats cool. roberto? thats funny. we had edwardo the pengiun.

        • Grace Ann Says:

          Yeah I know! Y’all had a picture on the board in the class that said Edwardo the Penguin and I thought it was so funny! I was so confused at first when I saw it but now you make it much more, how should I put this?, Unconfusing! I ♥ the Roberto blog thing, it was so funny! Did y’all have the blogging challenge last year too? Well anyway you should find the post and it says “Quick Break From Blogging Challenge”, and you should do it because it is a virtual knee surgery and was totally Abbyish! Oh P.S Mrs. Daugherty totally misses you! How’s middle school?
          ☮ out, Grace Ann

  2. arianacm Says:

    The school days are very long and we have to go to the subject that we’ve had for years like spelling,and science. 8:00 is when school starts but we go to our classroom at 7:46. I personaly love Mondays only because we have hot chocolate in the mornings. My after school activities are K-Kids,homework,and go to sleep. Fun huh.

    ~Ari~

    • The Captain Says:

      Hi Ari,

      I like hot chocolate mornings too. What is K-Kids? I agree that the days are long. It doesn’t sound like much fun to me. I guess you must like vacation days.

      Bye, John

      • Grace Ann Says:

        K-Kids is like a service club type thing. You know the pet parade? Well I ♥ed the pet parade! K-Kids hosted the Pet Parade. I have never done that but it sounds fun.

      • Nagachess Says:

        First of all, I love hot chocolate too, but I can never get that delicious drink becuase I am on the Tiger T.V. crew. So, consider yourselves REALLY blessed! Second of all, I am pretty sure that K-Kids is a KR club that is part of a lot of fundraisers and community works.

  3. Christie Carpenter Says:

    Before I get to my blog, I want to tell you the times of these activities are not the exact times. I tried to give my best estimate.

    Tuesday November,9th at King’s Ridge Christian School is a little crazy. At least for 5th grade. I start my day waking up at 6:20 to do my morning jobs at my house. Then I either get into my Mom’s dark blue Dodge Charger, or my Dad’s silver BMW and ride to morning carpool, which starts at 7:30-8:00. I go up to my classroom, unpack,turn in my homework, and get my morning books. After that, I go straight to the Tiger TV room and begin Tiger TV at 8:00-8:10. I go to the classroom and get my art sketchbook and the class and I are ready for PE (8:10-8:40) and art (8:40-9:30). After art, the class goes to math from 9:30-10:45. On Tuesdays, we switch reading with language arts which is 10:45-11:30. Then we line up to go to lunch, which our cafeteria ladies are great and also the food. We finish up lunch at 12:10. After lunch we go up to the classroom to get our afternoon books. Then our class, and the other 5th grade classes, go into the loft to practice the Christmas Play. Then we go back to our classrooms and have science or social studies. Our pack-up is from 2:30-2:50. We go down to afternoon carpool in the cafeteria to get picked up by our parents. At KRCS, we have after school clubs including: art club, newspaper, kkids, chorus, drum club, greenteam, writing club, chess club, and even more!

    • Nagachess Says:

      Wow! That is one huge paragraph!

      Thank you for mentioning the chess club! No one really cares about chess, but actually the game is really awesome and makes you think a lot. I think that everyone should give a shot at chess. You might be surprised that playing the game with all your friends is NOT BORING!

  4. Christie Carpenter Says:

    I posted on Roberto’s blog because, I thought his name was funny. I saw his blog and read it and said to myself, “Wow, who would think of something so simple, it was over the top creative.”

    ~Christie~

  5. Cbass7 Says:

    School is so much fun. My average day starts when my mom drives me to school in her car. My class normally starts school at 8:00, but on Wednesday we have late arrival and start at 9:00. Most of our subjects last one hour. We cannot pick which classes we go to. We just follow the schedule. my after school activities are baseball, basketball, and K-Kids. School is pretty cool the way it works.

  6. The Captain Says:

    My day at school begins at 8am on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday. We have late Wednesday and school starts at 9am. My school is King’s Ridge Christian School. My Dad or Mom drive me to school each day. Each subject in school is about an hour long. The subjects we learn are math, science, social studies, reading, English, spelling, and we have specials too. They are PE, art, Spanish, music and Christian Ed. There are a lot of after school activities but I play sports for my park and am busy with them. Our school has awesome lunches because they are all homemade. We also do a lot of fun things like plays and recess.

    I went to the CLASS LIST and saw a blog from Paul. It said tractors so I wanted to look at it. It was really cool because he does tractor pulling with his parents. I would like to try it too.
    Bye.

  7. Nagachess Says:

    On Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Fridays, I wake up at 6:00 AM in the morning. On Wednesdays (since we have late arrival), I wake up at 7:00 AM. I try to arrive at school by 7:35 AM on regular days since I am on the Tiger T.V. crew. On the special day, I try to be at school by 8:35. School begins at 8:00 on regular days and 9:00 on the special day. We don’t have a choice of subjects at my grade level. Each subject is about an hour (recess and lunch not included). At school, I unpack my backpack write in my agenda, get my books for the day, turn in my homework, and rush to Tiger T.V. When I get back, I go to Specials which could be P.E., Art, Spanish, Music, or Christian Education. After that, I go to Math, Reading, and then one of my favorites, LUNCH! After lunch, I have English. Then comes one of the best parts of the day, RECESS! Finally, I have Science. Then I pack up and go to carpool. The routine for the special day includes the same subjects, but in a different order. I attend many after school activities (of course, not all in one day!) like private chess classes, Kid Chess classes, yoga, and newspaper club.

  8. Nagachess Says:

    I visisted Ms Graunke’s class’s blog for two reasons. First of all, I thought that the name Graunke was interesting. Also, beside Ms Graunke’s name were the words ‘visit here’. So of course, I visited their blog. I found out that the school they are from is 1 minute away from a national park in Australia! They had pictures and said that they could have birthday parties there. They also listed the animals that could be found in the national park. Whoever loves nature should definitely visit their blog!

  9. gracie3456 Says:

    At KRCS we start school at 8:00. We have different schedules for different days. Lets say it was Thursday. We have morning work from 8:00-8:15. Then we go to PE from 8:15 -8:45. Afterwards we have Christian Ed from8:45-9:15, and then we have Spanish from 9:15-9:45. Following that we have Math from 9:45-10:45, and then we have reading from 10:45-11:45. Finally it’s lunchtime from 11:50-12:20. Afterwards we have English from 12:30-1:30. You can’t forget about recess from 1:30-1:45. Lastly we have Science or Social Studies from 1:45-2:45. Then we pack up and that concludes the day!

    I visited Roberto’s blog. His pigeon story was so funny. He actually was like a pigeon whisperer. I posted on his blog because the title seemed interesting

  10. Walker Weldon Says:

    I start my day waking up at 6:30 and leave at 7:30 when school starts at eight. Every morning I always think ” Another school day” but then school is fun and flies by so fast. Some activities we do that are my favorite is Science, Reading, and English. My favorite special is P.E. “come on who doesn’t? Kings Ridge has been my favorite school yet.

  11. Walker Weldon Says:

    I posted on the Otorohhangs blog. First of all that sounds awesome and second of all my dad chose it. I love this mac : )

  12. kelsey dex Says:

    It was November 12, 2010. I woke up at 7:00, got dressed into spirit wear and my mom dropped me off at school around 7:40. I went into my classroom and did all my morning work and turned in my homework. Then we went to P.E. and played downer ball and then we went to music and sang the Christmas play songs. After that, we went to spanish and translated it to english. We went to math after that and had a test. Then, we went to reading and did fun Friday. Then we had beefy mac for lunch, it was so good! After lunch, we went into the computer lab and finished our research paper. Then, we went out on the grass in the back and tasted all the different kinds of food they had back in the olden days. (Turn Homeward, Hannalee) Then we went to chapel and the first grade did chapel. Finally, our parents picked us up. After school, I went to gymnastics from 4:30-8:00.

  13. kelsey dex Says:

    I blogged on sebastian’s blog because they r doing a social studies project.

    -kelsey dex

  14. kendall Says:

    A school day at King’s Ridge Christian School starts at 8:00 but for the middle and upper school starts at 8:05. After getting to school in my mom’s black tahoe. I go straight upstairs to my teacher, Mrs. Daugherty’s classroom. When you get there we will have specials for 30 minutes. Then we have math for an hour. All the rest of our subjects like S.S, Math, Science, and Reading are all for 1 hour. After math and reading have LUNCH!! When lunch is over we have english, recess, and s.s next we pack up and go to carpool. I normally get picked up by my mom, but when she has work I carpool with the Lathem’s. On Wednesdays I go to tumbling at Twisters gym. If you want to know more aboutKRCS days go to http://www.kingsridgecs.org

  15. Ty Says:

    Every morning I wake up to my iPod in its alarm clock. I get up at around 6:45 every morning for school at Kings Ridge Christian School. I pretty much always go to school with my mom in her car, but sometimes my dad drives me. Even though school starts at 8 ‘o clock, I still get there around 7:45 to get a head start on work. Each subject last about 1 hour or so for most classes at my school. We don’t really have any choices on our classes; instead we do what is assigned. We have many after school activities such as K-Kids, Drum Club, Chorus, Green Team, Art Club, and Newspaper.
    I posted to Roberto’s blog because I thought it was interesting how he helped a girl with a pigeon.

  16. jphe123 Says:

    At King’s Ridge school starts at 8:00. We don’t have a choice of subjects, but I do Math, Reading, Science, Language Arts, Spanish, and Christian Ed, and then we do Social Studies after a few weeks of Science. We also do things like P.E, Art, and Music. My Mom takes me to school in the mornings and picks me up in the afternoons. Each subject is about an hour to an hour and a half. In the afternoons I go to Chorus, I do Basketball, and I did cheerleading. I really enjoy going to King’s Ridge. It’s so much fun!!
    – Jordan

  17. jphe123 Says:

    I did Sebastian’s blog because he was doing a Diorama and I love doing those. I explained to him that I had done a diorama in Third grade and it was fun. I enjoyed hearning about his project. It sounded like fun.

  18. laserdog700 Says:

    My typical day at KRCS goes something like this. I wake up around 6:15 (or 7:15 on Wednesdays). Then I eat breakfast, get dressed and my mom drives my little brother and me to school. I get there around 7:25 (or 8:25) to get a head start on my morning work. Around 8:00 (or 9:00) Tiger TV (KRCS’s Lower School News station) starts. After Tiger TV, we go to Specials (P.E., Art, Music, Spanish, Christian Ed, or Guidance). Next, we go to Math (we are split into separate math classes) and then Reading (back with our homeroom). After Reading we go to lunch where the chefs prepare incredibly good meals for us. Next is English where we have been working on our research papers. Finally comes my favorite part of the day, recess!! Soon after, we go to Social Studies or Science. All daily subjects last about an hour. At 3:00, it is time for dismissal. There are several afterschool programs, like KidChess, Chorus, Drum Club, KKids, Art Club, Green Team and Newspaper. I go to KidChess with my little brother on Tuesdays. I love the 5th grade KRCS schedule!

  19. laserdog700 Says:

    I looked at Chistan’s because I picked randomly and my cursor landed on his blog. Plus noone had responded to his blog.

  20. kendall Says:

    I commented on, well I went to Mr. Poole’s blog (isn’t that such an awesome name) then he said to go Jade’s post that she made a really good post. So, I went there and it was a really awesome post, it was about why do we need nooks or kindles when we can just get a book. I went to Mr. Poole’s blog because he has such a cool name!

  21. awesome2000 Says:

    every day I wake up,get dressed,I eat breakfast, and drive to school.then at school we umpack do morning work,and go to our subjects.then we go home,do homework, and play

  22. theawesomeone54 Says:

    I wake up to the sound of my dog barking at me to get out of bed. Then I get dressed to be driven to school. My classes are about 1 hour for each subject. My subjects are math, reading, language arts, and sience/S.S. I usually have after school stuff like sports.

  23. Blake B Says:

    Every weekday I wake up to 104.7 the Fish on my alarm clock at 5:45a.m.
    I will leave at 6:45a.m. or earlier. I get to school at around 7:15. Everything is one hour later on Wednesday’s. We have p.e. every day except Wednesday. Math and p.e. are my favorite subjects.We had a research paper due a few days ago and I am SOOOOO glad (I cannot stress that enough) it’s over!!!As of right now we have science in the afternoon. In about a week, we will have social studies.Science is really fun especially with Mrs. D!!! She makes school soooo fun!
    ~~Blake

  24. theawesomeone54 Says:

    I posted a comment on Paul’s blog about tractors because it sounds interesting and is an unusual hobby. It also has a cool picture of tractor pulling.


Leave a Reply

