Mrs. Daugherty's Fifth-Grade Class Blog

Connect with each other

Our Blog Made the List!!!! December 12, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — mrsdaughertysclass @ 7:37 am
Tags: ,

Our blog was listed as one of the TOP 100 Education Blogs!  How cool is that!  Visit this site and see our blog listed under the elementary section!  I am so excited for you all and all of your hard work to make a Top 100 list!  Why do you think our class made the list and what do you think we could do to improve our blog so that we make future lists!    Visit some of the other classes on the Top 100 list and leave comments on their blog congratulating them for making the list.  Then come back and comment on our blog about what you think we could do to improve our blog.  Be specific in your posts back to me so that we can incorporate the ideas!

Mrs. D

 

25 Responses to “Our Blog Made the List!!!!”

  1. Christie Carpenter Says:

    I think our class made the top 100 blogs because, our posts are very creative and they are not just saying,”ya, cool, awesome!” and words like that. We use our vocab words and we are very detailed in our posts.I also think we have interesting questions to answer. It’s not just one question, it’s multiple questions. What I think we can do better in our blog is add videos and pictures from our actual classroom when we are doing the blog. Or add contest for people around the world to try to win! I hope you liked my ideas!

    ~Christie~

  2. The Captain Says:

    Hi Mrs. Daugherty,
    I visited and commented on Mrs. Chiavarini’s Class Blog, the East Dragon Den Blog and The GATEr’s Blog. I congratulated them on making the TOP 100 list.
    I thought of a few things that we can do to improve our blog. We could do some really cool graphics like the East Dragon Den site. It would make our blog really sharp looking. We could also put a live weather report on our site for Alphareatta, GA. I think a link on our blog site for Tiger TV might be good too. This way our visitors can see and hear about what we are doing at KRCS.
    I think it is awesome that we are in the TOP 100!!!

  3. Mrs. Chiavarini Says:

    Dear Mrs. Daugherty,

    My name is Cathy Chiavarini and I teach Grade Five in Dover, Massachusetts. I think I may have received a comment from one of your students on my blog. He called himself The Captain. I am fairly new to blogging and I’m not quite used to receiving comments from people whom I don’t know in some way, so I was curious.

    Like you, I was recently added to the list of Top 100 Educational blogs, so I guessed that might be the connection with my mystery commenter.

    I’d like to subscribe to your blog, if that’s ok with you. My class began blogging in October and they have recently started managing their own blogs. It’s an exciting endeavor, and we are having a lot of fun with it. We look forward to getting to know new folks and to learning new and better ways of blogging.

    On a different note, I see that yours is a Christian School–my school is a public school, but I am a Christian, as is one of my fellow fifth grade teachers. I think that is a pretty neat connection, as well.

    Look forward to getting to know you and your blogging students.

    Here is the link to my school: http://www.doversherborn.org/index.cfm?pid=10343

    Here is the link to my class blog:
    http://gr5blogs.edublogs.org/

    Sincerely,
    Cathy Chiavarini

    • mrsdaughertysclass Says:

      Cathy,

      The captain is, in fact, in my class! Hopefully he will respond to your post as well! We would love for you to subscribe to our blog. We will add your class blog to our blog roll.

      Do you have a lot of snow on the ground in Mass.? It is actually snowing here in Atlanta right now – really just flurries, but we are excited because we don’t see snow that often!

      Have a great week at school!
      Mrs. D

      • Mrs. Chiavarini Says:

        Dear Mrs. Daugherty and Captain,

        Thanks so much for your response to my comment. It’s nice to meet you! Thanks for adding my blog to your links, as well…I’ll do the same.

        I think you’ve had more snow than we have! We’ve had some flurries here, but alas, no snow that has stayed around. The grass is still looking pretty green. We’re hoping for a white Christmas (except for the shoveling that comes with it!) There’s still time!

        I’ve never been to Alpharetta. I like the name. What is the origin of it? We study the 13 English Colonies in our history class this year, and I think Georgia has a very interesting beginning…James Oglethorpe, etc.

        Looking forward to blogging with you.

        Sincerely,
        Mrs. Chiavarini

    • kelsey dex Says:

      nice blog!!!!!
      -kelsey

  4. awesome2000 Says:

    I think that we made it to the top 100 because we give the most descriptive blogs and we have the best ideas on our blogs. I think we could improve on our blog by making it more exciting by adding pictures or videos of our class and stuff for our class.
    Sean

  5. Brenda Says:

    Top 100!!! Way to go Mrs. Daugherty’s class! I love the blog and all your input! You are teaching me!!! Keep up the great work!
    Miss you guys! Come see me anytime!
    Mrs. Clinton

  6. kelsey dex Says:

    I can’t believe that we got in the TOP 100!!! I think our class got in the TOP 100 because it is interesting, fun, creative, and we have a lot of posts and blogs. I think we should put our Christmas play on our blog and tiger T.V. We should also put what we are learning about in class and see what other people are learning in class. Our class blog ROCKS!!!

  7. arianacm Says:

    WHAOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I think that we should have interesting topics and have fun with the BLOG. Good luck to classes after us.

  8. Cbass7 Says:

    it’s awesome that we are in the top 100!We made the list because we are very creative in our blogs and we like to have fun. To make our blog better we should film the christmas play and put it on the blog. We should also put Tiger T.V so people will know what is going on at KR. I like Mrs.Chiavarini blog and it’s great that you made the top 100 list to and that you can post on our blog!

  9. Mr. Haney Says:

    Way to go Mrs. Daugherty’s class. You guys have a fantastic blog. Thanks for putting my class in your blog roll. Merry Christmas!

    Mr. Haney (Knoxville, TN)

  10. Blake B Says:

    I think our ,(INSANELY AWESOME), Blog made top 100 because everyone that blogs here is very skilled at writing. We could have little figures dance around as the first thing you see

  11. Ty Says:

    I am so excited we got the top one hundred! I think our class got in the top 100 because we worked hard on our blogs and others. I think we should put up more videos of our school events to improve our blogs. I also think to improve our blogs we should invite more people to blog on them. Happy Holidays to all who read this blog!
    Ty

  12. kendall Says:

    Way to go mrs. d’s class we made it!!!! I think that we made the list because I mean I totally agree with Christie our blogs or so detailed! To improve ourblog I think we could tell the weather in really cool way like each week mrs. daugherty could record us saying the weather for that week and if we do not have time or we forget Naomi or Eli could do it. Hope you like my ideas! 😀

  13. Grace Ann Says:

    I think we made the top 100 blogs because of the creativity we use!! I love how you (you meaning Mrs. Daugherty) took part of the blog challenge!! We got to go see all different blogs!! I would like to add maybe a blog pet. Whenever I visit other blogs they have cute little pets on the blog. I also think you could post pictures. Merry Christmas!!!!!! 🙂
    ~Grace Ann~

  14. Sebastian Bower Says:

    Great Job on making the top 100! It’s because you have an awesome teacher.

  15. Carson Says:

    I am so glad our blog made the top 100 list. I think our blog made the list because it is always updated and Mrs. Daugherty creates great blog formats! Also, there is always a new topic for people to discuss. I don’t think there is a way to make it any better! Mrs. Daugherty always does a good job with the blog design. One day I hope our blog makes the top 10 list.

  16. Angelica Says:

    Hello my name is Angelica and I am a sixth grade student here at I.S.B Bangkok Thailand. I am a blogger at my school too. It is nice to talk to you since we are far from you. You can check my blog out at blogs.isb.ac.th/angelicj Bye!

  17. Angelica Says:

    Hello my name is Angelica and I am a sixth grade student here at I.S.B Bangkok Thailand. I am a blogger at my school too. It is nice to talk to you since we are far from you. You can check my blog out at blogs.isb.ac.th/angelicj Bye! 🙂


Leave a Reply

