Mrs. Daugherty's Fifth-Grade Class Blog

Connect with each other

World War 1 February 6, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — mrsdaughertysclass @ 8:04 pm
Tags: , ,

This week I want you all to think about the secret alliances during The Great War.  I want you to imagine what it would be like to be a child in Russia when you find out that Archduke Ferdinand has been assassinated and now you realize that Russia has an alliance with Serbia.  Why is it important that Russia has an alliance with Serbia and how would you feel about that alliance?   What were the countries that were brought into the war on the side of Serbia?

 

25 Responses to “World War 1”

  1. The Captain Says:

    If I was a child in Russia when Archduke Ferdinand was assassinated, I would have been scared to death. Now that Russia has an alliance with Serbia, it means that we are in war. I would be worried about my family and friends fighting in the war. It is important that Russia has an alliance with Serbia because we have their backs and we will be part of the Allied Powers. The Allied Powers are trying to get rid of the Central Powers that are bad. Britain, The Allied Powers were Britain, France, Italy, Japan, Russia, and the United States. Even though I would have been scared, I know we had to help the people of Serbia.

  2. cathryn Says:

    If I was a child in Russia when Archduke Ferdinand and his wife were murdered, I would have been scared so much that I would hide. We are in war because we have alliances. It is important that Russia has an alliance with Serbia because we have their back and they have ours. We are also allied powered and they are too. The allied powers are trying to win. The Allied Powers were Britain, France, Italy, Japan, Russia, and the U S. We have our alliances back and they have ours.

  3. Ty Says:

    If I were a child in Russia and had just figured out my country was now at war with The Central Powers because Archduke Ferdinand was assassinated, I would be upset that we have to fight and that my father will probably have to go to war. I think it was important that Russia had an alliance with Serbia because that linked them to the war. I would feel worried about the alliance because that meant Russia had to fight The Central Powers. The countries that were brought to the war by the side of Serbia were Britain, France, Italy, Japan, Russia, and the United States.

  4. Carson Says:

    If I were a child in Russia when Archduke Ferdinand was assassinated, I would be scared. I know that the Allied powers are larger, but Germany has a huge army. I would support my country in any way I could. Still, I believe we should stay out of the war, but the Russian leaders believe we should help Serbia. I hope our family evacuates to the middle of Russia. The known Allied powers are the United Kingdom, France, U.S., Serbia, Belgium, Italy, Greece, Japan, and Romania. There is much talk of civil war in Russia, but it is one huge joke. It is a terrible time to be a kid.

  5. jphe123 Says:

    If I were a child in Russia and I had just found out that Archduke Ferdinand and Dutchess Sophie were just assinated, I would probably be upset and very worried. I would be scared for my uncles, brothers, father, grandfather, and friends, because I had just found out that my country had declared war on the Central Powers, because they would have to go fight in the war. The Central Powers were made up of Germany, Austria-Hungary, Bulgaria, and the Ottoman Empire. It was important that my country had an alliance with Serbia because Serbia was on our side and trying to help us win. Both of our countries are Allied Powers as well. Also siding with Serbia were Britian, France, Belgium, Japan, Italy, and the US.

  6. Christie Carpenter Says:

    If I was a child in Russia and I found out that Archduke Ferdinand was assassinated, I would be very scared. It is important that Russia had an alliance on Serbia because, they can help us fight in the war. I would feel a little bit safer because we had more than one country fighting for us. The countries on Serbia’s side were Britain, France, Russia, Italy, and Belgium

  7. Blake B Says:

    If I were a child in Russia I would be scared because my dad would probably leave to fight and I may never see him again. Since Serbia and Russia were allies than Russia would fight along side Serbia. Russia was also allies with France and Great Britain so that gave Russia and Serbia some power.

  8. theawesomeone54 Says:

    If i was a child in Russia and Aechducke ferdinand was killed by a Serb it would be terrible because we have a alliance with Serbia so we would have to fight to. Then Britain and France would fight and also Ausrtia Hungary has a alliance with Germany and my family would go to war to.

  9. awesome2000 Says:

    If I were an russian child I would be astonished to here my country was at war.I would be scared because then Russia would have to go to war because archduke Freudian was assassinated.

  10. Walker Weldon Says:

    If i was a child when Archduke Ferdinand and his wife were assassinated, I would FREAK OUT. I would become crazy because at any time someone could burst in the door and and shoot you or something. Your fathers and your friends are out fighting in one of the biggest wars ever. I especially am scared for Serbia and Russia. Anything could happen The bad guys could invent a brand new weapon that was amazing and could kill our own side easy. If i didn’t have my dad around i would cry, cry, cry, and maybe cry a little bit. I would look up to my dad and pray knowing he is going to be o.k.

  11. Grace Ann Says:

    Wow now that Arch Duke Ferdinand is dead Russia is in war. I’m now scared. I hear now that my dad is now leaving for war. This would be scary.

  12. cheergirl318 Says:

    If I were a child in Russia and I found out that Archduke Ferdinand was murdered I would kind of be scard and worried. Since Serbia killed him and he was important I would imagin that they would be pretty ticked off or act least my country would and they would want to start a fight. We were allies that means that we would have to go and fight with them and help them that meant that daddy would have to leave again. Us and over hundreds of other daddies like in Britain, France, Russia, and Belgium.

  13. kelsey dex Says:

    If I were a child in Russia and I found out the Archduke Ferdinand was assassinated I would be so freaked out. Since he was very loyal to Serbia, I would try and kill him if I were in the army. I would want to start a fight. Fathers that lived in Britain, Russia, Belgium, and France had to leave there family members and go fight for their country. Allies means when a secret alliance is formed with other countries. I would pray for my dad every single night. I would hate being alive in those days.

  14. gracie3456 Says:

    If I were a child in Russia, I would be so scared. I am happy that we made an alliance and have a better advantage. Since we are in alliance with Britain and France we will put up a good fight. Now that Archduke Ferdinand was assassinated we have a better advantage, but it is really sad.


Leave a Reply

