Mrs. Daugherty's Fifth-Grade Class Blog

Connect with each other

Another Free Blog Post February 26, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — mrsdaughertysclass @ 7:44 am

I hope you all had a wonderful Winter Break and are ready to get back to work!  You all did a nice job on your free blog post from last week, but I would like you to try it for another week.  A blog is typically used to try to persuade someone to your way of thinking or to inform the audience about a particular topic.  You all did a nice job, but this week I would like you to focus on a topic that you feel strongly about and try to persuade the group to your way of thinking.  You may pick any topic as long as it is appropriate to school.  Some of you blogged last week about shelter dogs, you may choose to blog this week about shelter dogs and why people should only get their dogs from shelters.  I would like you to be creative and show your passion about your topic.  I would also like a minimum of 10 sentences.  Also, be sure to post a reply to a friends comments.  Try to make your comments a reply back to the topic that agrees or disagrees with their position on a given topic.

Mrs. D

 

32 Responses to “Another Free Blog Post”

  1. kelsey dex Says:

    I am blogging about shelter dogs. We should only buy dogs from shelters because they need a better home, they need food and water, and if they are not helped fast they get killed. Some animals never had a loving family and they really want one now!! They need a better home than a cage because they want to know that they have a loving family. I know this because my dog, Cookie, was at the shelter and she looked so miserable and actually the people that had her before us beat her up and left her outside and threw her on the ground. I would hate to be any dog at a shelter because they have lived such a bad life. Think about it like us being in a homeless shelter, wouldn’t you like to have a family and get out of that place? I would love to have a loving family. These dogs are in help, they never got the right medicine too. Please adopt a dog from a shelter because they are in need for a family!!!

    -Kelsey D.

    • The Captain Says:

      Hi Kelsey,

      I totally agree with you about shelter dogs. My cat, Coco, came from the shelter and was going to be killed the next day. There are so many animals at the shelter that need homes. Everyone should go to the shelter first to get a pet, instead of a pet shop. I am glad your dog, Cookie, got a good home. She deserved it after those people were mean to her. Shelter animals are the best pets.

      John

    • Christie Carpenter Says:

      I feel sooooooooooooo bad for those dogs!

    • jphe123 Says:

      I so agree. Dogs should be fed well and have a loving family to look after them!!

      • 1cyacya7 Says:

        that is so sad that dogs are treated like that.

        • Arianacm Says:

          People should not treat dogs that way at all. it is not right what so ever
          !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      • kelsey dex Says:

        That is so true, just think of it like us being in a homeless shelter like them not having a loving family of food or anything!! Please Help!!!!!!!! I got my dog from a homeless shelter and she was so scared when we got her but now she loves us, we can see it in her eyes and she tells us. We tried to change her name to something other then Cookie, but that was the only name she would listen too and that is what fit her best because she is our little Cookie!! Please help Shelter Dogs!!!!!!! i am with Cookie right now!! Please help!! Did I mention Please help!!!!!

        -Kelsey D.

    • theawesomeone54 Says:

      Foster dogs are another good program. They help a dog stay with a family for a short time until they are found a home.

  2. The Captain Says:

    I think the University of Florida is the best college. The campus in Gainesville is huge and very nice. The weather is almost always perfect and you get a change of seasons. There are many different college courses to pick from. I know alot of people who have earned degrees for different jobs. Some of them are doctors, pharmacists and business workers. Now, we need to talk about the Gators awesome athletic program. They have the greatest football, baseball and basketball teams. Many of their players have gone on to the pros. The most famous is Tim Tebow, who is the quarterback for the Denver Broncos. The Swamp is the most feared stadium in college football. It is the best place to watch a football game. It is really loud and exciting. So don’t be a Gator Hater, join my team. University of Florida is the best there is!!!

  3. Christie Carpenter Says:

    I am going to blog about fun facts for Georgia.

    *Georgia is the largest state east of the Mississippi River.
    *georgia has 159 counties, more than any other state east of the Mississippi.
    *There are 350 species of birds in Georgia.
    *In 1945, Georgia became the first state to lower the legal voting age from 21 to 18.
    *Historic Saint Marys Georgia is the second oldest city in the nation.
    *The City of Savanna was the first steamship to cross the Atlantic.It sailed from Georgia.
    *The official state fish is the largemouth bass.
    *In Gainesville, the Chicken Capital of the World it is illegal to eat chicken with a fork.
    *Georgia was named for King George II of England.
    *Stone Mountain near Atlanta is one of the largest single masses of exposed granite in the world.
    *Georgia is the nations number one producer of the three Ps–peanuts, pecans, and peaches.
    *Georgia’s population in 1776 was around 40,000.
    *Cordele claims to be the watermelon capital of the world.
    *The annual Masters Golf Tournament is played at the Augusta National in Augusta every first week of April.
    *Georgia is often called the Empire State of the South and is also known as the Peach State and Cracker State.
    *In 1828 Auraria, near the city of Dahlongea, was the site of the first Gold Rush in America.

    If you want to see more I went on the sites:
    http://www.50states.com/facts/georgia.htm
    http://www.gpb.org/georgiatraveler/funfacts

    • Ty Says:

      Hi Christie, I think all the fun facts for Georgia are cool and I didn’t even know that there are over 350 different kinds of birds in Geeorgia.

    • theawesomeone54 Says:

      I am wondering why it is illegal to eat chicken with a fork in Gainesville. Is this all chicken dishes or just fried chicken?

  4. jphe123 Says:

    I am bloggimg about what you should do if you are in a tornado or a tornado watch has been isued. Just tonight, Monday, Feb.28th, I was driving home from the mall at Northpoint with my mom and we got caught in a storm. We didn’t think it would get too bad but all of a sudden it started hailing and it got very, very, windy. I got scared because I have always been afraid of any type of storm! Lightning, thunder, you name it I’m gonna be scared. My aunt called us and said that we should find a safe place and turn around immediately. My aunt was afraid too because she had been in multiple tornados!!
    Finally, my mom turned the car around and we went to Kroger. My mom dropped me of at the door and she went to park the car. I was shaking with fear and I was soaking wet and it was cold!! My mom thought I was crazy for being so scared. She told me that there was nothing to fear!
    If you ever get a phone call from a family member or friend who has watched the news and is informing you that there is a tornado warning and you are away from a shelter, you should find saftey immediately. The best places to seek shelter if you are in a car are either a deep ditch or an underground shelter in a building! You should also know that if a tornado warning has been issued then a tornado has actually hit the ground. If a tornado watch has been issued then that means that it is possible that a tornado could form! If you ever see clouds moving in a circular like form then you should seek shelter. Also, if you ever see debris blowing, large gusts of wind, or the sky is turning pinkish, greenish, or blackish you should seek shelter! And don’t forget that tornado season officially starts Tuesday, March 1st!

    Jordan

  5. 1cyacya7 Says:

    I am going to blog about softball and what you wear.
    *you should always wear sliding pads
    *bring a glove, helmet, bat, visor, and if you need batting gloves
    *wear cleats not tennis
    *the rules are like baseball
    *what ever you do try your hardest!

  6. Arianacm Says:

    I’m going to blog about keeping your dog safe in the backyard.

    * get a high fence
    * give the dog a lot of toys so they won’t get bored and wander around
    * or PLAY with your dog outside
    * or get a stake with a leash attached to the stake
    * check on your dog every 30 min.
    I saw a desd dog on the highway. 😦

    • Blake B Says:

      That’s sooo sad! But it makes a point.If your dog is old and can’t really jump, then you don’t have to use more money for a bigger and taller fence.
      Blake

    • theawesomeone54 Says:

      Dogs should always have fresh water available. Shade is important in the summer too.

  7. Arianacm Says:

    i meant dead dog not desd. 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦

  8. Ty Says:

    I am going to blog about Universal Studios. Universal is so much fun because there is so many things to do such as going on the fun amusement park. Some examples of those rides are Jaws, The Mummy, and the exciting “The Hulk” roller coaster. You can meet up with your old and new favorite characters in Islands of Adventure. You will find Garfield and Betty Boop in Toon Lagoon where you will get soaked on Ripsaw Falls. If you think your done with the water rides than your wrong because Popeye is going to be waiting for you on his ride Popeye’s Boat Tours. After your done with your done with Toon Lagoon, you’ll want to stop by Jurassic Park. You will get to have a not-so safe boat tour in River Adventure where you see some friendly and not friendly dinosaurs. You can then trot over to the Learning Center where you will test your Dino knowledge. A must see is the brand new world of Harry Potter. Get out your broom when you ride on the exciting Harry Potter Ride. If you don’t go to The Lost Continent than you will not be happy because you can have your fortune told, watch the art of forging money, and help the great god of the sea in Poseidon’s Fury. Prepare for battle in the Coat of Arms where you may purchase and see the sharpest blades, the hardest shields, and the most elegant blades. Meet up with Spider Man, The Incredible Hulk,and the rest of the hero’s in Super Hero Island. If you still don’t think that Universal is the best park ever, than picture a whole other park with everything else that there isn’t in Islands of Adventure that has to do with Universal Studios. Well there is! This park is called Universal but if you want to know about that park then you’ll have to see it for yourself and the other park at Universal Studios Resort.

  9. Cbass7 Says:

    I going to blog about what you need to play baseball.
    1. Glove
    2. Helmet
    3. Bat, Cleats
    4. Batting gloves
    5. and most of all Water
    Baseball is a fun sport when you want to get active, or just go outside.

  10. gracie3456 Says:

    I am blogging about my favorite Georgia game memory.

    My dad, my brother, my brother’s friend, and my brother’s friend’s dad, and I all left the day before Halloween, and drove six hours in one car to Jacksonville, Fl. We went to watch the Georgia vs. Florida game. We met up with my aunt and cousin. The game was loud and exciting. Georgia was playing a good game. They ended up losing in overtime, because of an interception, which was ran for a touchdown. We stayed over in a hotel and drove back the next day, just in time for Halloween. We were disappointed, but we had a great time!

  11. Blake B Says:

    This week I’m blogging about my favorite vacation.

    My favorite vacation was when my friend Adam and I went to Wilderness at the Smokies. We had a great time! Although, I think it was toooo short : (. My favorite ride was Storm Chaser. On one part you might go backwards! I almost fell out once, but I still had a great time.

  12. Carson Says:

    This week I have decided to blog about golf.
    Most people don’t like to watch golf because they think it is boring. Although it can be boring at times, it can be very intense and exciting. One of the most coveted titles in the world is the Green Jacket (Masters), only won in golf. It can also be very relaxing to play. Many famous presidents liked to play golf. Also, some of the richest people in the world earned their fortunes by playing golf. Golf can even keep you in shape if you play regularly. The only downside to golf is that it is very expensive and the upkeep of clubs costs much money. Overall, golf is a very fun sport.

  13. theawesomeone54 Says:

    I want to blog about hybrid cars. The hybrid cars of today have come a long way from several years ago. The auto industry has started to come around to the idea that better engines are needed. Engines that can run on other types of fuel also help our country be less dependent on other places for fuel. It could run out one day too. Now that the cars being made are better people are wanting to buy them. They can go faster and for longer periods with the new hybrid engines. This will save drivers money at the gas station. Some hybrids only put out water from the exhaust. Pollution is also cut back and helps the environment. There are even big, suv size hybrid cars. They are not little electric golf carts anymore. More families should think about buying a hybrid.

  14. Walker Weldon Says:

    I want to blog on facts abut the Atlanta Braves
    1. They are amazing
    2. They are founded in 1871
    3. There grounds is called Turner Field
    4. Babe Ruth, Jim Thorpe, Joe Torre, Cy Young, Greg Maddux are some of Braves history players
    5.red, Navy blue are braves colors
    6. and bought byTed Turner (1976) P.S. I almost forgot about luckaly my parents let me do it.

  15. Grace Ann Says:

    I am going to blog about Atlantis. I LOVE Atlantis!!! I have been there two times and both times I have enjoyed it. The ocean is crystal clear and there are many pools to swim in. There are lots of slides but my favorite is the Abyss. Click here to see a picture after you shoot straight down in the dark. My second favorite is the Leap of Faith!!! Like people say, a picture says a thousand words, and you can’t tell from the picture but you go through a tube at the end of the slide and there are sharks around you!!!! There are many more slides but I wanted to share those with you because they are my favorite ever!!!!


Leave a Reply

