Mrs. Daugherty's Fifth-Grade Class Blog

Connect with each other

Middle School! April 17, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — mrsdaughertysclass @ 7:02 am

This week you all are going to make a visit to the UMAC.  You will get to taste what the middle school experience will be like!  What are you most looking forward to in middle school?  How do you think middle school will be different than elementary?  What are you most nervous about going into middle school?  What is one question that you can’t wait to find out the answer to during your visit?

Be sure to respond to a friends post!

Mrs. D

 

24 Responses to “Middle School!”

  1. cheergirl318 Says:

    I am most looking forward to one being able to write in print and two we can get up and walk between each class. I think that middle school will be different than elementry school because you can write in print and you have lockers also I think we have more privlages. I am most nervous about that the tests that will have really long essay questions and have short amounts of time to do them. The one question I really want to know about middle school is, is four minutes more than enough or bearly enough to get them and be in class on time.

    • kelsey dex Says:

      Good point about is 4 minutes not enough or is it-I am wondering that too.

      -Kelsey Dex 🙂

    • The Captain Says:

      I can’t wait to have a locker in middle school. You are right about us having a lot more privileges. It should be really great, but I am nervous too.

  2. kelsey dex Says:

    I can not wait till middle school! 🙂 I am most excited about getting to right in cursive or print and pen or pencil like Kendall said above. I also am looking forward to getting a locker!! 🙂 It will be different because we have a different teacher for every subject instead of just one teacher. I am nervous about finals because it is a BIG BIG test week. 😦 My question on middle school is, How do they decide on who goes to what class at what time??????

    -Kelsey Dex 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    • 1cyacya7 Says:

      That’s right you have differnt teachers for differnt subjects. You don’t have a home room teacher.

  3. The Captain Says:

    I am most looking forward to lockers and the dessert bar everyday in middle school. I think middle school will be different from elementary by it being more difficult. I think we will have harder subjects and a lot more to learn. I am most nervous about being with the 8th graders in middle school. I hope that they are nice to 6th graders. I can’t wait to find out what their sports programs are like. I would also like to ask if there are advanced classes.

  4. Ty Says:

    I am looking forward to the independence that I will get in middle school even though there are new responsibilities that come with this independence. I think that the middle school will be different from the elementary school because we will have lockers, we will not have a home room, and we will have different teachers for different classes. I think another difference is that we will go to lunch on our own. I am most nervous about forgetting my books for a class and being late for a class. What will we do when we get to the school in the morning if I don’t have a homeroom is my question.

  5. Grace Ann Says:

    The thing that I am most excited about for middle school is getting to write in pen and print. I think that the middle school will be different than lower school because you get to have electives and pick them. Also you get more freedom. You also don’t have a homeroom teacher. I am most nervous about time management. Next year I will be even more involved in dance so it will be hard. I am not scared about being organized though because Mrs.D has done a great job at that. My question is, do you stay more organized with your books by having a desk or a locker?

  6. 1cyacya7 Says:

    What I can’t wait to be able to do in middle school is to write in print and in pen. I think that it will be differnt is that for every class you will go to a differnt room and that you don’t have a main teacher. I am most nervous about forgeting a book. Can you have a teacher that teaches you twice in a day (not including after school hobies/classes).

  7. jphe123 Says:

    I can’t wait to go to middle school! Like Kendall said, you get a lot of freedom and privileges! I’m looking forward to writing in pen and writing in print. I am not sure what classes I’m going to choose, but I am excited to learn more about the acedemics! I am probably going to do Chorus and Musical Theatre next year. My question is the same as Kelsey and Kendall’s, Is 4 min. enough time to change classes, or isn’t it? 😉 😉 😉 😉 😉 😉 😉

  8. Carson Says:

    What I am looking forward to in Middle School is the independence. We literally get to do whatever we want to do in class and you can talk in the halls. I think Middle School is tougher than Elementary School because the teachers offer more advanced material, especially in the A.P. classes. The thing that I am most nervous about is that I fail a class and have to be held back. I also fear that I will get a locker on the bottom row.

  9. Theawesomeone54 Says:

    I am looking forward to middle school and having a locker. I am also looking forward to being able to pick the classes i want to take. My sister is 7th grade so i’ll get to see her more often. I’m not looking foward to having more teachers because lt is more to keep up with. But other then that i am looking forward to it.

  10. Walker Weldon Says:

    I can’t wait to go to middle school. I love to have free-time between every class and more freedom. The one thing i’m upset about is that you all kinds of teacher and a different one every time. I have an older brother and a an older sister they both went to middle school at KRCS they tell all the great teachers what to do what to have and they say you need to be responsible. The best thing about middle school is lockers no cubbies and desks its all lockers wohooo!

  11. Christie Carpenter Says:

    I am looking forward to middle school. I want to write in print all the time also. It will be different from elementary because, you have more freedom and you actually walk to different classes. I am nervous for the really hard tests with long essay questions and only 55 minutes to finish them. The one question I have is, is 4 min. enough time for you to go to your next class?

  12. gracie3456 Says:

    I am looking forward to having different lunches. Also, I am looking forward to having a locker. The lockers will help us be organized. You can also have more of a variety of classes. Middle school will be so much fun, but I will miss Mrs. Daugherty.

  13. Hi Mrs Daugherty and Fifth Grade
    Good luck on your upcoming visit to middle school. I hope that all of your questions are answered and any fears you have are put to rest.

    Miss Docherty


Leave a Reply

